April 30th, 2015
Remembrance Mass to pay tribute to Sean Hannick – ‘A True Champion of the West’
The extraordinary contribution the late Sean Hannick, Killala, made to the lives of so many people and the entire western region will be celebrated at a special Remembrance Mass in the Old Church at Knock Shrine on Thursday, May 14th, at 6pm.
Sean Hannick passed away in January, leaving an enormous void. He was a founding member of the Council of the West, and its Chairperson at the time of his death, and his Remembrance Mass is being organised by that organisation as a fitting tribute to a man who was known as ‘A True Champion of the West’.
“Sean touched the lives of so many people. He was an inspirational man, and one we all miss very much. This Remembrance Mass is our way of acknowledging the tireless work he did in so many areas.  Although we in the Council for the West are the organisers, this mass is open to everyone who knew Sean, and also to those who may not have known him but who respected his extraordinary contribution”, said Declan O’Callaghan, Acting Chairperson, Council of the West.
“We have people coming from all over the west of Ireland and from further afield. Sean’s enthusiasm for developing the west knew no bounds. He was admired and respected everywhere he went.”
Eulogies will be delivered by Declan O’Callaghan and another man who, like Sean, exhibited his love for Mayo and the west in very tangible ways, Professor Emeritus Seamus Caulfield, founder of the Ceide Fields and former member of Council for the West.
A well-known industrialist and businessman, Sean was a tireless advocate of local development and his list of achievements stands as testimony to the selflessness with which he set about trying to improve the lives of the people of this region. He was selected as Mayo Person of the Year in 1998.

Sean was Chairman of the National Council of ISME (Irish Small and Medium Enterprises) and a Board member of the

Western Development Commission for two terms and a member of the Western Development Commission Investment

Fund (WIF). He was also a Board Member of Mayo County Enterprise Board.

Seán was a founding member and Chairman of the Killala Chamber and Development Association and a member of many other community development organisations, including extensive involvement in Killala GAA club.
He is survived by his wife Deirdre;  sons John, Rory, Conor and Marcus; grandchildren Sarianna, Farayah, and twins Órna and Séan; daughters-in-law Neasa, Caroline and Yolanda; sister-in-law Margaret; brother-in-law Pat;  relatives, neighbours and friends.

Acting Chairman:                  Declan O’Callaghan Tel: 087 2435011

Administrator:                        Caroline Wilson, Tel: 096 32975 / 086289 9296 / email: cftwest@iol.ie
The Council for the West is a voluntary, independent, non-political body which monitors and reports on the socio-economic state of the West and acts as a lobby group promoting the development of the West. The Council for the West was set up by the Western Bishops in 1994 and has successfully campaigned for retention of Objective 1 Status for the region in 1997 and was also instrumental in the establishment and retention of the Western Development Commission.  It continues to campaign for balanced regional development and highlights issues of major concern for the region.
Council for the West, Killala Business Park, Killala, Co. Mayo.  Tel: 096 32975,  Fax: 096 32014, E-mail: cftwest@iol.ie
Web: www.councilforthewest.ie Charitable Status No.: CHY 10724, Developing the West Together Limited Registered No.: 197197

Members: Chairman: Declan O’Callaghan Treasurer: Ray O’Donoghue Secretary: Michael McGarrigle PRO: Liam Horan, Neville Bagnall, John Connolly, Micheal Frain, Most Rev. Bishop John Fleming, Mike Hogan, Most Rev. Bishop Christy Jones, Diarmaid Mulcahy, Seamus Rodgers, Sean Sweeney.    
Co-ordinator: Caroline Wilson.  Patrons: Most Rev. Bishop Philip Boyce, Most Rev. Bishop Kevin Doran, Most Rev. Bishop Martin Drennan, Most Rev. Most Rev. Bishop John Fleming, Most Rev. Bishop John Kirby, Most Rev. Archbishop Michael Neary, Most Rev. Bishop Colm O’Reilly, Most Rev. Bishop Leo O’Reilly, Most Rev. Bishop Kieran O'Reilly, Right Rev. Patrick Rooke