5th March 2013

Call on community groups and landowners to support Grid West project


A call has been made on local communities and landowners throughout the west of Ireland to support the proposed Grid West upgrading of the region’s electricity system.

Sean Hannick, chairman of the Council for the West, says a dramatically-enhanced electricity system is “crucial for the future development of the west of Ireland”.

Mr Hannick is adamant that the development is badly needed to attract large energy-using industry projects to the west.

“Over the past 15 years, we, the Council for the West, have met with the IDA on many occasions to discuss possible projects for the region. On each occasion, they pointed out that they were not able to push this region as a centre for possible energy-using industry because of the quality of the electricity transmission system,” he said.

“North of a line from Galway city to Dublin, huge investment is needed. This takes in the counties of Mayo, Sligo, Roscommon, Leitrim, Donegal, and much of Galway.

“Now, Eirgrid are investing €240m to improve the electricity infrastructure in the west region”.

“The Eirgrid upgrade will have the impact of attracting industrial projects to the region. I would call on all community groups and landowners to support this very important initiative as it will have long-term and far-reaching benefits”.

Mr Hannick added that the Eirgrid upgrading would “help to iron out some of the disadvantages faced by the west of Ireland in terms of promoting economic development”.



The Council for the West is a voluntary, independent, non-political body which monitors and reports on the socio-economic state of the West and acts as a lobby group promoting the development of the West. The Council for the West was set up by the Western Bishops and has successfully campaigned for retention of Objective 1 Status for the region.  It continues to campaign for balanced regional development and highlights issues of major concern for the region.

Seán Hannick is Chairman of the Council for the West and Vice-Chairperson of the Mayo Industries Group


Contact Points:

Spokesperson:                  Seán Hannick: 087 2564824

Administrator:                  Caroline Wilson, Tel: 096 32975 / 0862899296 / email: cftwest@iol.ie



Council for the West, Killala Business Park, Killala, Co. Mayo.  Tel: 096 32975,  Fax: 096 32014, E-mail: cftwest@iol.ie

Web: www.councilforthewest.ie Charitable Status No.: CHY 10724, Developing the West Together Limited Registered No.: 197197


Members: Chairman: Sean Hannick, Vice-Chairman: Declan O’Callaghan Treasurer: Ray O’Donoghue Secretary: Michael McGarrigle PRO: Liam Horan, Neville Bagnall, John Connolly, Most Rev. Bishop John Fleming, Deirdre Garvey, Mildred Gilmore, Most Rev. Bishop Christy Jones, Diarmaid Mulcahy, Seamus Rodgers, Pat Shannon,  Sean Sweeney.     Co-ordinator: Caroline Wilson

Patrons: Most Rev. Bishop Philip Boyce, Most Rev. Bishop Martin Drennan, Most Rev. Bishop Brendan Kelly, Most Rev. Bishop John Kirby, Most Rev. Archbishop Michael Neary, Most Rev. Bishop Colm O’Reilly, Most Rev. Bishop Leo O’Reilly, Most Rev. Bishop Kieran O'Reilly, Very Rev Patrick Rooke